Coltswold Windrush

mauz

Hello to you all,

I am a complete newby to Caravaning so if the questions I have appear a bit silly please forgive me.

I have just bought a Coltswold windrush which must be twenty years old but in great condition has any one got any information regarding these vans? we are taking Tilley (yes I have named the van Tilley)on the 11th of Feb for the first time any tips regarding making our first trip not so fraught?

Also we want to get the van serviced what is usually included in the service?

Thank you :-D

Hi mauz,

There were a couple of owners' clubs knocking around online but it seems that they've disappeared. I have found a Facebook group that might be worth checking out though, and I'll print your post in the mag to see if any of our readers have some interesting info for you. Hope you enjoy the holiday – send some pics in, we'd love to see them!

[edit] It might help if I actually give you the FB group link as well. (lol)

http://www.facebook.com/groups/45499573183/

Hi,

You have bought a 'Classic' van, Cotswold were one of the 'Quality' hand made manufacturers, along with Buccaneer (prior to being bought by Swift), Carlight, Cheltenham,Royale and Bessacar.

The biggest enemy of a van that old is the 'Mastic' at the joints getting brittle, and letting in water.

This can totally ruin a van, even a well made one like your Cotswold. I would get it 'Damp tested'

and when you can afford it, get it 'Re-sealed' with modern Adhesives (like Sikaflex 512) it won't need ever doing again. But probably will not be cheap. Congratulations you made a good choice !

;-) Ray

This is for the Cheltenham owners club. but i am sure they would welcome you :

http://www.jacquimccarthy.co.uk/index.html

Does it look like this one ?