Help wanted, new to caravanning, insurance, security devices etc

Guest 1footinthegrave

Guest 1footinthegrave

Well we've just decided to ditch our M/home and go the touring caravan route, but are completely out of our depth, so here's the questions.

What if any security devices do we need to get insurance for it, we envisage the van being stored at a local farm with no security as such there apart from sheep with a bad attitude.

Can anyone recommend an insurer that does not insist on every Thatcham device under the sun, caravan is 2 years old value around 10k, many thanks.

hi

im also new to caravanning but unlike yourself this is my 1st having only tried camping previously (now never looking back), as i found its best to shop around for quotes but i found a good quality hitch lock & wheel locks were basic requirements, the price does come down if the van is stored in an approved site but basicly the insurances were looking for secure compounds with fences & lockable gates, security cameras etc. you will probably see most will offer new for old on vans up to 5 years old too but the prices do vary, as i said im very new to this so hopefully my comments will help but if not im sure the well seasoned :-D members here can point you in the right direction

regards jamie

Hi

Just come back to a caravan myself after 13years in American R-V`s!!!. I found the CCC where the best for Insurance, and accepted the fact that with an Alko Wheel lock and Hitch lock, my driveway was acceptable storage.

I don`t think the neighbors are still too chuffed but hey its 1/2 the size of the R-V so what the hell!!.

I have a "new for old" policy, and a "rescue" package with "arrival" which is a hangover from the R-v.

Hope this helps?

Pete

Guest 1footinthegrave