calor gas alternatives/solutions for germany

blasct

hello all, newbie here,

i tried to search for the answer but to no avail, so apologies for posting something that will doubtlessly have been covered before.

so i bought an old 1990 swift challenger caravan and took it to germany where it's going to remain on a friend's farm. it uses calor gas for the oven/cooker and heater, with a regulator that clicks onto the top of the gas bottle. however, i have since learned that calor gas bottles cannot be exchanged in germany and so am looking for a solution for when the gas inevitably runs out. there is a spare propane bottle (empty) in germany that i have been told I am welcome to refill and use, but this has a completely different, screw-in fitment, and then i am not sure that propane will work on that old system in the same way as the blue butane does - something about pressure? - anyway - is there an adaptor i can use to connect the old calor gas head to the screw-in propane bottle valve? do i need a different hose, perhaps? or do i need to find a butane alternative?

thanks in advance for any input.

I assume the butane regulator you have at the moment looks something like the one in the attached photo, and that your regulator will be connected to your caravan’s metal gas pipework by a length of flexible gas-hose secured by jubilee-clips.

On the following advert is an example of a smallish-capacity German gas-bottle and there’s a photo showing the bottle’s outlet-fitting with a regulator attached to it.

https://www.adverts.ie/campers-motorhomes/german-gas-bottle-cylinder/8720876