Computer Programming

net-traveller

Yes I know that this is probably not of interest to many but those old programmers out there may just remember Fortran. For me it was one of two programming languages for City & Guilds and 'A' level, the other being ICL assembler, those were the days :-) .

The creator of this language has just died.

http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/news/2185927/founder-fortran-dies

RIP

To everything there is an end.  RIP.

I studied Fortran at college, but the best I ever did was a chess board on the screen and a program to determine mean and standard deviation of white blood cell distributions.  But I have always used i and j as variables through the years, in memory of fortran!

I spent many years programming in ICL assembler too!  On an ICL System 25.  A total of 20 partitions, but one was the clock, physical switching, possible 10 users per partition sharing the same program at the same time by raising service requests, maximum 78k user space per partition, 10 byte instruction set that allowed instruction editing during processing.  Those were the days when, because of the extreme constraints on memory, you would store variable data in the unused 5 bytes of an unconditional branch instruction, just to get by.  A world so completely foreign to the new generation of programmers who so quickly sacrifice efficiency for functionality.

mom - 2007-03-21 2:04 PM

To everything there is an end.  RIP.

I studied Fortran at college, but the best I ever did was a chess board on the screen and a program to determine mean and standard deviation of white blood cell distributions.  But I have always used i and j as variables through the years, in memory of fortran!