Hiring or Buying?

Fuddyduddy

Hi there

I am new to motorhomes in fact I haven't yet purchased one .The model that suits me is the Autosleepers Talisman .I would like to try before I buy but all the hire companies I have seen do not rent out this model.Talking to the dealers who are trying to sell me this model say that it is such a popular model that I could buy the van from them use it for six months and resell if I didn't take to it and the depreciation would be less than the cost of one weeks hire. Are they right or is it just sales patter? If they are not right any suggestions or do I just have to jump in the deep end and buy?

Many Thanks

Roy

If you haven't tried motorhoming before, I think it would be worth hiring first.  However, I wouldn't worry too much about hiring the exact van. 

After you've used one for a bit you'll probably see quite a number of features in a different light.  This may lead you to review your decision regarding the Talisman: it may confirm your choice. 

It is very difficult just to to imagine how things will work, and feel, in practice, and how you will react to motorhoming in general.  Actually doing it will be revealing, even in a different van.  Many folk seem to go through several vans before they hit on the "right formula" for them, and what looks/seems the right choice at the outset may, with experience, prove to have drawbacks.  Ultimately, hiring is cheaper than switching vans.

Try to find something roughly similar in size and layout, note the differences to the Talisman, use it for a week or so, contrast what you get with what you'd have in a Talisman, and see how you get on.  I'm sure this will prove valuable experience.  It will enable you to find how you like travelling and living in a small box, and should enable you to better judge the Talisman and its suitability for you.

Hi All,