To Wave or not to Wave.

Solentlady

Hi as you know I am new to having a motor home, and am having a great time, never been away so much in my life. We have been reading your threads to wave or not,

so we put it to the test this weekend, we only travelled to Waymouth from Lee on the Solent,

what a lot of miserable people there are out there. One man even gave us the V sign. still I will not let it deter my sunny dispostion. I will keep waving.

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest caraprof

You mustn't assume that people who don't share your view are necessarily miserable.

I find it annoying and embarrassing when total strangers, with whom I have no connection whatsoever, suddenly start gesticulating from the other side of the road, as though we are old friends.

It's a free country and I respect your right to wave at me if you must but if I choose not to reciprocate please don't make assumptions about my attitude to other people and my friendliness or unfriendliness levels!

Some of us are still a bit 'stiff-upper-lip' and we deplore this insincere informality where every customer services clerk calls you by your first name, where people leave cuddly toys at the scene of an accident or tragedy, even when they have no personal connection with the victim, and where total strangers feel that they have the right to put an obligation on me by waving at me just because we happen to drive the same kind of mobile home.

I also deplore equally the person who made an obscene gesture at you, that was disgraceful.

Now, having got that off my chest, I wish you well in your new hobby and hope that you have many years of pleasure with it.

Hi Solentlady