satelite tv in spain

horse444

Horse,

Sorry the best we can do is South of France because we do't do Spain as yet.

But everything works fine there how big is your dish?

This should say I am no expert and perhaps this would stand a better chance of getting a good reply on M/H matters . As not sure but I think youhave to have a fairly substantial dish fairly large.

Our dish is 85 cm also

Apparently it is something to do with the "footprint" the sattelite broadcasts and Spain is just outside it. We were told recently that Sky & the BBC have altered the signal size because of the amount of people getting Freeview. BBC Freeview is not supposed to be free outside the UK, and channel 4 & 5 are only free in the uk and you can only get them when you pay a subscription to Sky.

I was told that freeview is available in France because the French decided that it was cheaper to "piggyback" off Sky than put up their own sattelite system, so French broadcasters just pay for a licence to use them. I am not sure of the authenticity of this but it seems practical to me!

We received it fine at La Marina, Alicanti (Feb 06), as we did at Marbella, on the Kathreine system (square dish equivalent to 50cm). Although from the previous posting things may well have changed since then.

One thing to try is to ask what transponder frequency the local installers use to import the Astra 28 signal and switch to that if you are savvy with the installer set up menu. I know this worked for several people who were having trouble - the frequency will reset itself automatically when next used in the UK. Alternatively as a local TV engineer to do it for you whilst there, they are quite used to getting us Brits out of trouble.

Alicante is a little below the edge of the Astra2D footprint. (BBC and ITV broadcast on Astra2D). But it is still possible with an 85cm dish (better with a 1m).