wintering in south greece,television reception?

thecooks

Guest caraprof

The Astra satellites which transmit the regular BBC and ITV programmes are very poor if not non-existent in southern Greece.

I've no doubt that you'll be able to receive international progammes, such as CNN etc. if you have the correct equipment but you can forget your regular Eastenders!

You need a real expert here to advise on the right kind of digibox and dish so if no one pops up I'd start Googling asap.

What a blessing. Can you imagine the horror if the only programme you could receive was Eastenders? ;-) I have no experience at all of travelling with a motorhome abroad, however, I have lived in some European countries over the years when Mrs Windsor was my boss. During that time it was always possible to get some sort of TV in English. Mainly news broadcasts, but, in many countries films are still sent out in English speaking but with the local language done in subtitles. You could always take with you a selection of decent DVD's. Or, I hope this isn't too radical, how about a good selection of books?

Guest caraprof

Here we go again! Someone asks about an aspect of TV and as usual there's someone to give us his own smug opinion on how we should be reading books or watching DVDs!

That's not what he asked for God's sake! Apart from which to watch DVDs you need a DVD player and a TV, so if you're lugging that with you, why not plug in an aerial and get the lot?

I read lots of books, currently the latest authoritive account of Agincourt and the politics leading up to it, but I also enjoy television.

Has it ever occurred to these cultural snobs that some of us like to keep up with the news and current affairs? We also enjoy the odd entertainment programme, and what's wrong with that?

Guest caraprof

But it's just the same that we talked about earlier with the satnav. Do we really believe that thecooks are not bright enough to work out that they can take some books on holiday?