CI CARIOCA 5 WEIGHT DETAILS

cornishboy

I am new to the forum and to MH'ing in the UK (toured around North America & Canada in one years ago so not a complete novice). 

We have just purchased a 2006 Ci Carioca 5 6 berth with the 2.3jtd engine. I am struggling to find a definitive max weight for it. The VIN under the bonnet says 3300kg, which I understand as being the original chassis details but I cannot find a CI makers plate anywhere to say what CI rated the MH at once converted. I have read 3500kg on some sites but obviously want to make sure.

If anyone has one of these and can point me as to where the makers plate may be or tell me what that says that'd be great. Hopefully you can see this pic to see what the van looks like

f83f46884feb23dee7a9138325cd2d96.jpeg.e3b4ebec24dc5665c8b8743bb1b076c1.jpeg

Welcome to the Out&AbutLive forums, Charles.

I notice that you’ve also asked about this on the MHFun forum

http://www.motorhomefun.co.uk/forum/threads/ci-carioca-5-weight-info.123666/

but no definitive answer to your question has yet been provided.

As you’ve observed, it’s far from easy to pin down the MTPLM (Maximum Technically Permitted Laden Mass) of your CI Carioca 5 motorhome and what information I have that could relate to the model (plus data in on-line adverts) suggests MTPLM figures of 3300kg, 3400kg or 3500kg might apply.

However, there is some hope, as this 2010 forum inquiry about a 2006 CI motorhome

http://forums.outandaboutlive.co.uk/forums/Motorhomes/Motorhome-Matters/What-Taxation-Class/20175/

suggests (in the 9 July 2010 5:57 PM posting from “coach2000") that - in addition to the under-bonnet VIN-plate you are aware of - one of the cab foot-wells (I’m guessing the driver’s-side foot-well) might have in it a silver adhesive-label that carries weight-data provided by the motorhome converter. This label may be marked “Trigano” (the commercial group that CI was part of).