Cruise Control

davew

My X250 was produced just before Autotrail fitted cruise control as standard.

With a deteriorating arthritic knee I think I'm going to get cruise fitted before I venture off to Spain in January. I'll enjoy the rest and opportunity to exercise it whilst on those long motorways!

What I would like opinions on is: what spec should I look for and where can I get it fitted - reasonably locally?

Thanks

Depending on what you get and I cannot comment on any of them you will be able to slow down and increase your speed without touching the brake or accelerator.

Its a wonderful system and will make your life so much easier, I've been using CC on two vans for 30 years, One of mine operates at 18mph the other higher, and for controlled zone driving they're great.

It makes for a far simpler and more pleasant life.

art

The genuine Fiat CC system cannot be retro fitted without replacing the entire main wiring harness believe it or not, and Fiat are not alone in this, VW do similar so I'm told.

Almost all after market cruise systems will be by the same manufacturer now, Liteon although they're often marketed under different brand names: Waeco do "Magic Speed" but it is exactly the same kit as the Gold Cruise systems fitted by myself, Conrad Anderson and Adroit services to name but three, there are plenty more installers out there.

For the X2/50 I'd recommend the new AP900 fully electronic system and the CM35 stalk on the left hand side of the steering column which gives you all the base features of cruise control: SET current speed, ACCELERATE, TAP UP in 1/2 MPH increments, DECELERATE, TAP DOWN in 1/2MPH increments, COAST which simply disengages the CC and reverts you back to manual control plus two memory buttons that you can preset to speeds of your choice (30 and 60 are the most popular settings).