Ducato X250 immobiliser light

kissenger

Hello All... Newbie here, be gentle! *-)

I have a 2011 Ducato purchased about 2 years ago. As a bit of back story, about 8 months ago the van wouldn't start when we were (inevitably) packed up and ready to go away for a weekend. Symptom: immobiliser (or 'vehicle protection failure warning' or 'padlock') light wouldn't go out on the dash. Sent it to garage and about a 700 quid later (and a weekend under canvas ... imagine!) it was returned, all working, having have 'wiring loom' repaired.

Now, yesterday, same thing. Van turns over fine, battery level ok, but wont start and the dreaded immobiliser light wont go out. This time I would like to spend a bit more time problem solving before throwing cash at the problem. So I, did a bit of research and the following threads brought me to this forum:

https://forums.outandaboutlive.co.uk/forums/Motorhomes/Motorhome-Matters/That-X2-50-engine-gearbox-earth-strap-again-/33081/

https://forums.outandaboutlive.co.uk/forums/Motorhomes/Motorhome-Matters/Citroen-Relay-X250-Immobiliser-problems/40382/

https://www.fiatforum.com/ducato/443176-x250-money-saving-tip.html

So I took out the passenger light last night, and had a dig around. I cannot see any **obvious** signs of damage or corrosion in the wiring loom, and frankly given the number of wires and difficulty in accessing their end points and connectors I don't know where to start to diagnose where the problem might be. I can't find anyone else on the internet talking about this, so I thought I would come to the source for some help!!

So, my question is: Where do I start? Without diagnostics , I might be looking in the wrong place entirely. What other root causes can result in this problem. Does anyone have any tips on how to trouble-shoot, suggestions on most likely candidates etc?

Thanks in advance,

kissenger

Lots of advice in those links.

You may have carried out the following but this would be my approach.

Try the second key.