Elddis 285 Motorhome 2020 YEAR

freddie

I'm no expert but no doubt you will get more expert replies on rear axle loads. I have a 196 with a drop down bed and another two travel seats(with all the additional ironmongery) but your (published)payload is considerably less than the 196 which looks strange? Plus you have a great deal more weight in the rear end bathroom all on the rear axle. I have a spare wheel and there isn't a great deal of space at the rear underneath as the water and space heating are underneath as well. Any 285 owners out there.

I think you nearly double the gas weight to include the tank and that will increase the weight on the rear axle (over and above the weights)the further to the rear past the rear axle you hang it.

Details of the 2021 model-year Elddis Encore 285 can be found here

https://elddis.co.uk/models/encore-285

and there’s no particular reason to think the 2020 variant would be significantly different

The 285 is a relatively long model (7.408m) built on a Fiat Ducato ‘light’ ‘(3500kg) camping-car chassis with (apparently) no option to specify the ‘heavy’ chassis. The front and rear axle-load maxima are the usual 1850kg and 2000kg respectively, and the Mass in Running Order is quoted as 3040kg with zero allowance for water. The standard tyres are 215/70 R15CP, or 225/75 R16CP if 16” alloy wheels are chosen. A spare wheel/tyre is also standard, as is an ALDE heating system. The layout is as shown on the drawing attached below.

The 285’s gas system is described as having a "Compartment for 2x 10kg gas bottles, with fitted Truma en-route gas regulator” suggesting that the compartment may be sized to accept Flogas/Gaslight composite containers rather than 13kg Calor propane bottles.

https://www.flogas.co.uk/gaslight

The gas-locker is at the very rear of the vehicle on the right-hand side and, if the 2 x 10kg gas bottles capacity is correct, that equates to around 40 litres of gas.