Garmin not as good as TomTom

I have the Garmin 760LM but I actually prefer my old TT Go

I know there's a lot of Garministas on this forum so please tell me why you like them?

I'm really interested to hear from folk who have had a TT in the past.

The reasons I like the Go v the 760 is the way it displays POIs (and loads them)

I could make an OV2 (e.g Castorama) and transfer it in Windows to the TT directory and the job was done.

If I selected the Castorama POI - it flooded the screen with Icons and i could zoom in to the area around my route. I like the idea that I could see more than one icon several 10s of kms apart

With Garmin. (if I've read it right. - I'm still learning) I have to use one directory on the PC to store all my POI stuff and use loader to make one gpi file (with lat long and bitmaps combined) that is then loaded to the unit.

If I want to update "ONE" coordinate, I have to remake the whole gpi file. How daft is that?

Then when it comes to display POI I have to go to Custom POI then a category, but I have to plan the category before I create the gpi file and, which seems unnecessarily restrictive.

I recently downloaded a bundle of Aires from "Campin Car Infos"

They are categorised as eg "AS" (Aire Service) or "APN" (Aire Parking Nuit) but there are lists for France Andorra Spain Germany, Austria etc etc

I tried uploading the French and Andorra set together but this experiment was unsuccessful because when I select Custom POI I get 2 x AS & 2 x APN and 2 x all the other data sets, but you cant tell which one is Andorra and which is France. And when you select any of these POIs, you get a list of names that are totally unfamiliar and you cant view them on a map to get an idea of where they are. So absolutely crap for forward route planning. How daft is that?