Help With Schaudt WA121545

BrianK

Hello all

Complete newbie here hoping for some help from those who know their way around van electrics a lot better than me.

I have spent a lot of time reading many of the posts on the forum including the one linked below discusses some of what I require but more especially those posted by Allan of aandncaravans, to pen a phrase more likely to be used by my children what a legend!

https://forums.outandaboutlive.co.uk/forums/Motorhomes/Motorhome-Matters/Improvements-to-leisure-battery-charging/50677/

The vehicle is a 2014 VW Transporter T5.1 conversion that was already converted when I bought it. Unfortunately a simple 60A split charge relay beneath the bonnet along with a starter type battery for a leisure one achieves very little when driving, probably partly as the van has a smart alternator and regenerative braking.

I’m intending to replace the one poor battery with 2 x Bosch LFD90’s placed under the front seats and connected together in parallel.

Additionally I intend to remove the split charge relay and instal a Schaudt WA121545 B2B charger (also known as an Intelligent Alternator Booster) to hopefully provide the best possible chance of a good charge as I drive from place to place. I may also want to add solar one day but don’t want to get involved in this at the moment.

Installing the actual unit seems relatively straightforward (see pdf linked below) with live and negatives going from the starter battery to the WA121545 and then the same on to the leisure battery. Where it becomes a bit more confusing to me is how the system will integrate with the DS300 Distribution board and CB516 charger. Also there is mention of using a simulated D+ signal in much that I have read, I believe to ensure the starter battery still receives a charge when plugged into EHU but I’m not sure.

http://www.aandncaravanservices.co.uk/resources/Schaudt%20WA121545.pdf

Other specification of the van that may have a bearing are: