How often do you drive your MH?

Crumpleton

Hi Everyone,

Apologies if this has been covered before but I could not find a previous thread on the subject. I am a newbie and a bit concerned about leaving my motorhome standing for long periods without being driven and the problems that this may cause.

My question is this - how often and how far do you take your motorhome out for a drive to keep the engine and mechanicals in good condition? I was thinking maybe a ten mile drive once a fortnight would be enough but would be very interested in your thoughts on this matter. Thanks.

As far as possible about every three weeks, for about 10 miles or more, but if not, then we would try to bring it home for a night or so- we have short term parking on the driveway - and hook up to mains to ensure battery doesn't drop too much.

As suggested, getting the engine up to normal operating temp is the key here.

I live just 10 mins away from the motorway so I usually run it down to the next junction and back again once every few weeks if I know I won't be using it for a while.

Ours is SORN over the winter. It's last used in early November and I run the engine up to temp in January. It's retaxed in April, driven to Spain and so far everything is OK. It's stored in a nice dry garage over winter which I think counts for a lot.

I've heard advice from experts to run the engine frequently while in storage - and others saying that running it while stationary does as much harm as good.

I've always avoided starting the engine unless I am taking the MH for a run (of 15-20 miles) and if I do start up without taking it for a run, I run the engine for at least 20 minutes - it takes at least that long for mine to reach normal running temperature.