Hymercar Sierra Nevada

tfp

Hi,

I'm new to motorhoming and purchased a Hymercar Sierra Nevada last August. I'm having problems with the van and I am trying to find anyone else who has purchased one and whether they have had problems too.

tfp

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The van has a window to the rear on the drivers side which opens outwards so that if you open the main van door to go in or out it will knock into the window and in our case move the whole glass piece out of its housing causing damage. Hymer and our seller Travelworld state it isn't a design fault which I disagree with as a window is of no use if you cant open it for fear of damaging it or having broken glass.

We also have damp patches appearing in the pop up roof and damp patches towards the rear of the van in the roof which clearly shows water ingress. This van is less than 11 months old and as they are a relatively new design i'm wondering if this is a design fault too.

We've asked for a sliding window to replace the window we can't use to be told that we will have to pay for it.

Also we were told we could have a fly screen fitted for £400 but once fitted there was no seal on the side that is pulled over but only brushes. Several months later and lots of trips back to Travelworld they have finlly said that if we want the proper seal we have to fork out an extra £841.... The proper seal was something that should have been completed at factory fit and if fitted afterwards is not the same spec.

So I wondered if any other Hymercar users had the same issues.

Welcome to the Out&AboutLive forums, tfp.

You may well find that no member of this forum owns a “Sierra Nevada” as they are probably pretty rare in the UK.

Regarding the outwards-opening window that can contact the sliding door, I suspect that you’ll have great difficulty successfully arguing that this is a ‘design fault’.