Looking to buy my first campervan

RustyLegs

I am a newbie on this forum but have been gleaning useful information here for a few months now particularly on member’s views of the Fiat Comfortmatic gearbox.

I have been caravanning for a number of years but the last three years have not been kind to me health wise, two back surgeries in the last year or so. I am therefore looking into trading in my caravan for a campervan probably early next year. This will also need to be my everyday transport and due to my driveway constraints, 5.7m is the maximum length that can be accommodated.

I have noted from the forum that frequent advice is to buy from a dealer relatively close to where you live if possible. With this in mind, I have currently narrowed my options down to a Auto-Sleepers Symbol or Danbury Royale. Either will need to be with auto gearboxes.

My questions are:

The 2018 prices for Auto-Sleepers now include an option for the Comfortmatic with 150 bhp engine on a Fiat van at £4,000 (was £2,500 in 2017). They have added a new option for 130 bhp engine with Comfortmatic for £2,000. Anyone any idea for the reasons for this change? Presumably a 130 bhp engine (especially as the quoted torque figures are not that different to the standard Peugot 160 bhp engine) would be fine for a van the size and weight of the Symbol?

Does anyone have any experience of purchasing or dealing with Danbury MotorCaravans please?

I had a Symbol for a short while a few years ago and whilst the van worked OK I found it very cramped and far less relaxing to live in after a coachbuilt, and possibly even more so after a caravan, although it is easier to park and turn being more compact?

I've never dealt with Danbury having been more of an Autosleepers devotee, and even then I never felt the need to buy a new van (unless for VAT relief on health grounds) but I have heard some alarming tales of poor build quality on new vans from A/S of late?