Monitoring motorhome remotely against damp

brightspice

I'm new to motorhoming (is this even used as a verb?) and have already suffered the consequences of leaks and condensation causing damp :-(

I was wondering if a (portable/not permanently installed) remote readable temperature/humidity/motion sensor product is being used by anyone? When I'm in the motorhome I can see what's going on, but when it's not in use I’d love an easy way to see what conditions inside are like to guard against developing problems (like new leaks appearing!)

I know I could install a wifi-type thermostat, but this is a 'project' and quite expensive. Besides wifi-thermostats also require mains hook-up, which I've already found isn't always available. I want something simple that works by plugging into the mains/a cigarette socket, uses a Pay As You Go SIM, and allows me to monitor conditions through an app of some kind.

Are we the only ones to suffer from this and does anyone have any pointers? Otherwise I'm thinking of getting my husband to pull together a solution when he next has time on his hands!

Many thanks

Welcome to the forum and to the wonderful world of pouring money into a big metal (or plastic!) box!

I don't know about remote damp sensing, but whatever you use will need to be powered so you may also need to consider a method, possibly a solar panel, to keep the battery alive.

There is much info on solar panels and regulators on here and get the right set up and it works well but get it wrong and either it won't work well or batteries will not last very long.

We always monitored damp by mk 1 nose and eye power and leaving lockers open can help air to circulate. If you had a mains power source I would suggest a dehumidifier to keep it dry but most vans seem to survive the winter without any such luxuries, ours always did.

Condensation causing damp and mould can be a problem and it can be difficult separating that from a leak.