Reverse judder/clutch problem - all Sevel models?

johnlc

I'm vaguely aware of the reverse judder/clutch burnout problem related to 2008/9 Fiat Ducatos.

Does this apply equally to Peugot Boxer and Citroen Relay vehicles of that era?

Does it apply irrespective of engine size. vehicle wheelbase and 5 or 6 speed gearbox?

I'm currently looking at a Fiat Ducato 2.2 JTD engine on a short wheelbase with 5 speed box.

Although the van has a 58 plate a search suggests it might a 2006 production model.

Would this make a difference?

Sorry for my ignorance on this, but I'm looking at a private sale vehicle and don't want to louse up!

Thanks

John,

I'm no expert, but having followed this saga for a few years on these 'threads', the answer seems to be: yes, ALL X250 Seval vans can get the 'judder', be they Fiat, Peugeot or Citroen, (Rupert 123 might well come along and disagree!) but a 2.2 JTD sounds like the same motor/gearbox as in my 2005 Fiat Ducato-based 'van, i.e the previous model, (X240?) and not affected with the problem. X250's are 2007 and later, I think.

Hope that helps, the real experts (e.g. Brian & Derek) might well be along soon.

Cheers,

Colin.

More of a problem with the 6 speed boxes but bear in mind it was only a very small number of vans that ever suffered with it. On the web and forums you tend to only hear from the people with problems, the tens of thousands that don't have a problem don't shout about as they have no need too. Appears to effect some conversions more than others never heard of it with Hymers.

As a result of my experience buying an 05 model, I would be more concerned about a POSSIBLE damp problem along the wall/floor joints. You absolutely MUST have a full damp check and be totally convinced that there is NO sign of damp penetration.

the repair shop about to do my van, currently has 5 vans in of similar vintage and different bases, all suffering damp problem.