Solo in France

Duffer

Hi All,

I'm hoping to travel down to the Auvergne by motorhome in mid-March for 2 or 3 weeks. (I know it won't be hot, but I'm fed up with wearing thermals and walking in Derbyshire rain and mud :-)

I've been motorhoming and caravanning for 12 years, but have never crossed the channel with them.

I'll go through the tunnel as it's easier for the dogs, and then travel by N roads and toll-free motorways.

Can anyone offer help, guidance or advice for a first time abroad? I've got a satnav, and the ACSI and aires books, and a few apps, but my biggest concern is the driving.

New road signs, regulations etc and being on the 'wrong' side of the road for the first time could make it a stressful trip. The dogs aren't a lot of help - they look out the window but won't say what's heading towards us, so overtaking could be difficult if the vehicle I'm passing is big (a wagon?)

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Long time since my first trip over the channel into France but still remember it... no it was not that bad. My tips would be avoid citys and travel outside peak times. As for passing big wagons, don't bother they are not that slow you are in a motorhome so should not be bothered by being a few minuets longer getting to any place. Stay safe and have fun.

We are down in Spain having driven from the tunnel with no real problems driving that is lol.

John

ps gassing does not happen never has or never will so forget that one and the French are no worse at driving as any Brit, well most of them that is. B-) B-) B-)

Zydeco Joe - 2018-01-16 7:20 PM

Long time since my first trip over the channel into France but still remember it... no it was not that bad. My tips would be avoid citys and travel outside peak times. As for passing big wagons, don't bother they are not that slow you are in a motorhome so should not be bothered by being a few minuets longer getting to any place. Stay safe and have fun.