battery charging

bobmaddison

Hi fellow motorhomers, I have a small problem requiring advice from those of experience and expertise.

We bought a CI on a Fiat Ducato a couple of years ago. Being our first ever motorhome I do not know much about the electrics peculiar to campers although I am an electrician. Since the beginning it has occurred to me that the leisure batteries were not charging from the alternator and the fridge did not seem to work on 12v with engine running. In my naivety I was not sure how the system differentiated between the vehicle and leisure batteries. The other day I found a schematic diagram of the charging system and decided to investigate. I found there is a lead marked as D+ coming from the ignition switch, which needs to be energised to operate the relays for charging to take place while the engine is running. Following this lead from the charger I found that behind the dashboard it was connected to another lead that ran to the engine bay where there is a 1 amp in line fuse but then the lead has been terminated with a blank cable connector. I temporarily connected this lead to 12v and the fridge works and the batteries charge. Why should this lead have been blanked off and where should it be connected. Any ideas?

The lead you refer to going to the engine bay should be connected to D+ on the alernator. Why on earth someone has siconnected it I have no idea. So 1st of all check if there is a connection to the D+ terminal on the alternator. The same circuity or 'signal' is used to control the Ignition lamp as well as the slave relays for the charger circuit and power to the fridge.

I think before going any further you need to check what is connected to the D+ on the alternator and if your ignition light works and goes out when the engine starts. D+ is used to control the slave relays so power is only supplied to the leisure batteries and the fridge when the engine is actually generating power.