help again please - 2007 Citroen relay reverse gear

Mark Wilkes

I have a 2007 Citroen relay and it has suddenly stopped selecting reverse gear. all the other gears work fine and I had the clutch done last year can anyone please suggest anything that I can have a go at, I have very little mechanical knowledge and no one to help. thank you all once again.

(Title edited for clarity - Keithl)

This 2012 MHFun discussion

https://forums.motorhomefacts.com/149-fiat-ducato/102383-ducato-2007-x250-2-2-100-multijet-no-reverse-gear-help.html

related to not being able to select reverse gear on a 2007 Ducato with 2.2litre motor (which I assume would be the same powerplant/gearbox as used on a 2007 Relay).

As Kennyd has suggested, the first thing to check is the linkage between the gear-lever and the gearbox as (hopefully) that’s where the problem is likely to lie, rather than inside the gearbox.

What does "it has suddenly stopped selecting reverse gear” mean? Is there a reluctance for the gear-lever to move into the reverse-gear position - which might select that the linkage is out of adjustment? Or does the gear-lever move into the reverse-gear position in the normal manner but reverse-gear is not selected - which might indicate that part of the linkage at the gearbox end has become detached or has broken?

Hi Derek the problem is that when I lift the collar to select reverse the collar lifts Ok but I cannot locate reverse even tried with engine off but it doesn't go into reverse gear. it has been a bit stiff for about a week but now it won't engage reverse. all the other gears are no problem to select. I have read that the cable might have some slack in it but not sure how to fix it.

As you’ll see from the link I provided above, adjusting the linkage (even when there is nothing actually damaged, detached or broken) won’t be a simple task.