omnistor awnings

old grey mare

:-D Hi there,

We have our latest motor home, very happy with it. Problem, I am a newbie, hubbie can't do as he used to due to a stroke. (^) I need to put out the Omnistor awning to shade us all. I have bought an awning tie down kit, sadly it is for a Fiamma. How on earth does this go together?

Please help!!! :-> *-)

The tie down kit is just a stronger version of the cord used to tie tents down, with a spring and metal peg, so if you've ever camped, you've got the basics. The attachment to your awning is the issue, as you need to slide a metal piece into the slot on edge of the awning rail, so look at the attachment and the slot and see if they will fit. I had to slightly alter my kit to fit my prostor (dometic) awning rail.

That said, I rarely use it, but wind it in if there is a breeze.

It wouldn't be much use as mine was omnistor kit to dometic awning. And I've never sorted how to put photos on here.

If you look at the slot on the end of the awning when its wound out, and then at the metal thingy that is meant to slot into it, you can have some idea of what is needed. Just a bit of lateral thinking, I had to cut the thingy to make it narrower for my awning. But as I said, I hardly ever need it, the awnings are fine just wound out for 90% of the time, any wind, (or overnight) I wind it in.

ive a Thule omnistor awning on my Globecar.

the black webbing tie down straps have 2 ends - one with a triangular metal ring for attaching to a peg nailed into the ground.

the other end has a small flat metal plate (about 10mm wide) in a kind of Z form - one end has a hole in it and is attached to the webbing stop - you pass the metal plate through the a small hole in the top of the awning leg, just below the pivot where it attaches to the awning - the downward angular deflection of the tie down strap applies a force tote plate that locks it into the leg of the awning.

the tie down straps don't attach to the horizontal awning member . ;)