semi-traction

KeithR

ive followed the battery orientated threads with interest and now, due to an electrical fault my (not very good) battery discharged to 5.1v, so i guess its shot! and i need to use the advice gleaned on here.

im no expert on power and my motorhome (bailey autograph 730) has no enhanced charging, just what was fitted when i bought it ( new in 2015). ive considered the varta ldf 90 and the yuasa l36-efb, but whilst googgling i came across semi traction. supposedly heavier aand more exxpensive but quoted as a higher quality leisure battery. im not a heavy user of battery power, but like to think i wont have a probleem wwhen iom off hook up for a few days. the battery i saw was an exide (semi-traction) ET650 100ah with a 4 year warranty, for £139.99. i would appreciate comments or advice from those more knowledgeble than i.

after many years off good service from a gel battery in my previous m/home, ive had no luck with 2 batteries on this m/home and would love to be able to relax knowing my power bank is there!!!

:-(

Quite good timing as I have just copy and pasted the below into another post, just 5 minutes ago. The ET650 is rated by us.

Extract from our Battery Technology web page :

The Varta LFD/Bosch L range is our "Best Budget Buy". Guide price £105.

The Yuasa L36-EFB is our "Best Mid range" battery. Guide price £119.

The Exide ET650 is our "Best Buy Heavy Duty" battery, but costs about £160.

The Exide ES900 is our "Best Buy Deep Cycling" battery. Guide price £180. However, the ES900 is a Gel battery so like all Gel's has several disadvantages, one of which is high the cost, but they deliver around 750 cycles at 50% DOD. It is very good at Deep Cycling and has a high number of cycles but they can take twice as long to charge up which can be self defeating as any battery taking longer to charge may only be up to 'Half charge' on the 'Alternator' by the time it is next required.

They also need a special charge profile.