Cold Weather Parking

Wingpete

Cold Weather Parking  

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Guest Frank Wilkinson

I'll probably be proved wrong by someone who's qualified, which I'm not but I would say that, as long as it is safe to do so, that you should leave the handbrake off. There must be a chance of your brakes freezing on.

If ever I garage my car after it's been raining, and especially when I know that I may not be driving it for a couple of days, I always leave the handbrake off as the discs may corrode slightly and stick to the pads.

Well I'm a qualified light vehicle mechanic, does that count? Leaving a vehicle parked with the handbrake off but in gear is a good idea, especially when its parked on level ground. Vehicles parked for extended periods with the handbrake on is not good because the pads/discs or shoes/drums can become siezed through corrosion. Hope this helps.

D.

Can't elucidate more 'cos I've been drinkin!!!

For 30+ years I have been parking with handbrake on, I have never had the handbrake sieze on due to freezing on a 'working' vehicle. I have had rear brakes stick due to general corrosion, but this affected foot brake. I do at present have a vehicle which has brakes all round siezed on and siezed clutch, but it was left for around 12 months. I do get front discs on T25 stick on overnight, going bang when first moved, at first I thought this was because of age they where starting to corrode, but after replacing one caliper that had corroded it still happens.

So from my experience with the vehicles I have driven I would say it makes no difference if you apply handbrake, unless you are parking for months.