Always disconnect the main battery?

Paul in Brum

Hi folks. Newbie here. Just bought a used Rapido 962M (02 plate). Super chuffed. The couple I bought from explained they always disconnect the main battery (engine, B1) to stop it draining when on site, as it continually tops up the leisure battery (B2). There's a solar panel fitted.

Are they right or just over cautious?

Surely when not hooked up, B2 will be topped up by the panel and when it runs down a drive around will charge it up again (or hooking up)?

I hired a new motorhome last year for the summer and it was fine in this way and didn't have a solar panel to top it up. But the couple were clear - B1 can drain and needs disconnecting at every stop.

I've had a read of the manual and it talks about the two batteries working together but nothing to suggest the scenario from the previous owners.

Any and all advice gratefully received.

(Likely to be first post of many...)

Never heard of anyone doing that.

The only things that would drain your engine battery are the alarm and the radio unless your van has a very strange battery setup.

What normally happens is that the solar panels top up the leisure batteries and any spare goes to trickle charge the engine battery.

If you are on ehu on site the same applies.

Thanks v much. Yes it does seem very strange. Having our first trip in a couple of weeks - once valeted... - so will take some jump leads just in case and give it a go. There is an alarm but if not activated (which it won't be as one of the sensors has been mangled by a dog - then should be fine. We will see!