Noise

bb_wales

Hi all,

Just joined this site after searching around since buying our new to us Motorhome, it is a Eura Mobil 810HB built in 2003. From what I have read this site appears to be friendly with plenty of experience and people willing to share their experiences to help others.

Since buying the MH and driving it home I have heard a noise coming from the engine compartment, I was a mechanic in a previous life and do know how to diagnose problems hopefully, now the noise that I hear sounds like a squeal and only happens in high revs 3rd and 4th and then all the time in 5th unless it gets annoyed with itself and shuts up for a time. To me the problem seems to be from the gearbox now prior to me stripping the box out and rebuilding it have any of you come across this previously and am I heading in the right direction? I should say that the engine and gearbox are Fiat and is the 2.8 JTD.

Thank you in anticipation of guiding light.

Kind regards

Bob

The definition of squeal suggests to me a possible drive belt, or maybe water pump issue?

Worn gears and bearings in gearboxes tend to whine, or even rumble just before letting go?

Can you make it do it when stationary or is it only when being driven?

Welcome to the Out&AboutLive forums, Bob.

As you are an ex-mechanic you’ll be well aware that identifying the source of an odd noise in a vehicle is not always easy.

I once owned a motorhome based on a RWD Ford Transit chassis and the gearbox began to make a peculiar ‘whistling’ noise, but the cause turned out to be a problem with a bearing in the rear axle’s final-drive unit. I was pretty sure when driving the vehicle that the noise was coming from the gearbox but, when I sat in the rear of the motorhome and somebody else drove it, it was plain that the noise was from the rear axle.