Sealing under floor woodwork

MagHal

Hi I'm new to these for a and to motorhome ownership.

I'm due to drop the waste tank on my Avantgarde over winter to replace a level float switch.

This gives me opportunity to clean up metal work and Waxoyl the chassis. I was wondering however about wood treatment. Does anyone have any experience or recommendations about treating ply? I thought an antifungal preservative or repellent like Thompsons water seal would be Ok but I know some people are against sealing in case it seals in damp. Glad of any opinions.

Hal

A GOOGLE-search usng “motorhome sealing plywood” as the search term will retrieve information/discussion that should be helpful. For example

http://www.caravantalk.co.uk/community/topic/53822-underfloor-sealer/

Although Thompson’s “Water Seal” is strongly recommended in the CaravanTalk discussion, consulting Thompson’s own website reveals the statement “Compatibility - Not suitable for plywood”. No explanation is given, but there may be the possibility that the product would harm the plywood’s glue interlayering.

To a large extent what product is best used to treat Hal’s motorhome’s floor is going to depend on what (if anything) is already on the plywood and what condition the plywood is in. Any ‘rot’ found will need to be addressed and it would be decidedly risky to use a traditional ‘underseal’ as this would tend to trap damp in the wood.

If I were going to spray Waxoyl on the chassis (a horrid DIY job unless one has access to suitably heavy-duty lifting equipment) I think I’d just spray the underside of the plywood floor with Waxoyl as well, rather than use a different product.

Dunno really - it might be a good idea to ask some of the companies that offer motorhome rustproofing services what they use if the customer wants a plywood floor treated.

Thanks, sounds like few if any have tried it and the possibility of a solvent based water proofer delaminating the ply is something I hadn't thought of.