Advice on Inverters

Guest Mike Chapman

Guest Mike Chapman
Can someone knowledgeable about 12v to 240v Inverters please give me some advice. I have no experience of buying or using an inverter. Thinking about using one to power a laptop, hi-fi, etc in the motorhome when a mains hook up is unavailable. Is there a good article or website giving recommendations and advice? The laptop will have a GPS based navigation program. Can it be powered from an inverter powered by the cab 12v socket while on the move? (being used by my wife). Will a smoothing device be required to remove voltage spikes? With a 110 amp Leisure battery roughly how long will it be able to power the inverter before the low voltage warning is given and the battery need re-charging. Which is the best model and what power would you recommend? Your assistance will be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Mike Chapman

Guest William R Dunstone
Hi Mike, Some of your points are like how long is a piece of string? I am sure one of the experts will be along shortly and give you an answer about inverters. I would recommend to feed your laptop when under way to use a laptop power supply from someone like Action Replay at www.action-replay.co.uk It has various settings for voltage (to match your laptops requirement), various sizes of tip (to fit your laptop) and costs about £30. The advantage being that you are not getting the electrical losses of converting 12v to 230v and then back to c 12v again. BillD