Alternator faulty?

Dez

Hello.

Quick overview of my problem... On a 2010 Fiat Ducat 2.3 Devon Aztec

Engine battery died from lack of use (vehicle stored). Used the onboard charger (switched from leisure to engine) and left charging overnight. Checked battery next day - it was hot and bubbling - knackered battery !!! New battery installed. Now starts okay but the battery light comes on and the engine revs higher at idle. Suspect the alternator is faulty? I have used a voltage reader and attached to battery. There appears to be no charge when engine running as it remains around 12 amps and doesn't increase.

Could frying the battery onboard done something nasty? Not sure how I can determine if the alternator is actually at fault?

Please - any tips appreciated on how I start troubleshooting - spent all night awake worrying about it :/

Thank you. P.S. I have limited knowledge of what I can use the multi-meter for :/

Dez,

I am unable to think of a reason why cooking the battery, would damage the alternator, unless the charger was also faulty.

Given the cost of replacing an alternator, it is probably worth checking other items first.

The 12 amps (I think you mean volts.) that you mention for the new starter battery is too low and that it needs a charge. If charging via the on board charger, a cautious approach would be to try the charger on the habitation battery first. Check the voltage across the habitation battery, and abort the procedure if it rises above 14.5V.