Another newbie question - the move from Diesel

stagger321

Hi there.

As per a prev post I am new to this game, and looking for our first largish MH.

As someone who has worked in the motor industry for many years, I have seen the recent shift from fossil fuels to a HEV and BEV in the car industry. In fact a number of manufacturers are stating their intentions to not offer diesel/petrol options some time soon.

In the UK, recently Diesel-gate (and Brexit) have had a huge impact on sales in the car industry. All we currently see for eco-friendly vans and Trucks are coming from people like Elon Musk /Tesla. Nothing much from anyone else. As we know most of the powertrains for the larger vans are coming from people like Fiat, Pug, and Ford.

I understand the reliance on Diesel in the Motorhome/Truck sector - all that Torque, and some extra economy over Petrol, buy hey, Electric gives you a boot-full of Torque, and its instant.

Obviously Battery technology and range has a lot to do with this, but what are peoples thoughts going forward?

I truly believe these next few years are the last hurrah for the infernal (sic) combustion engine, and therefore at this early stage of potential Motorhome ownership, don't wish to invest a large sum of money on a Euro-5 or Euro-6 diesel when tax's, LEZ's and resulting and residual decline will affect my new purchase. Neither do I wish to own anything older and less good for the environment.

Thoughts?

• Replies 84
  • Created
  • Last Reply

My thoughts are that anyone with any doubts about buying a motorhome, whatever the reason, should not. Especially if they are going to borrow money or dip into a pension pot. Anecdotal comments from the recent NEC Show suggests people are thinking this way. If, however, you have the money and are keen, then I would go ahead. Anecdotal evidence from the NEC suggests there are people minded this way.