Are my batteries OK

garethgb21

Hi everyone and thanks for reading this.

I have 2 leisure batteries connected together (parallel) and they haven't been used for about 5 months.

I'm not sure they are working to capacity and are faulty. And as they have a 2-year warranty (they are around 18 months old now), whether I should take them back to Halfords.

This is what happens when I charge them overnight after a full charge, and then what the charge in volts, is after each day of nothing pulling a load from them.

12.9 V - after a full overnight charge

12.6 V - 2nd day - battery not used

12.4 V - 3rd day - battery not used

12.3 V - 4th day - battery not used

12.3 V - 5th day - battery not used

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards all.

I am no expert but as I understand it Lead Acid batteries self discharge at a rate of approx 5% per month. This rate increases with temperature and that is why batteries should be stored in cool locations. Personally and it is only my opinion, I think your batteries are ok and that in any event what matters more is the load discharge rate. If I had doubts I would remove the battery parallel link and check each battery independently.

This is what I use to test batteries https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/12V-Car-Battery-Tester-Auto-Vehicle-Battery-Analyzer-AGM-CCA-GEL-MICRO-200-Kit/192726174809?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649

Assuming there is nothing connected to the batteries, one or both batteries have failed. You could repeat the test with each battery charged separately rather than in parallel.

You have nothing to lose by taking the batteries back to Halfords, hopefully they will replace them. It's useful taking along your meter and testing the replacements before accepting them.

Mike