Axle weights !

Spadge

Thanks for the reply nowtelse2do, however I'm confused now ! The vehicle MOT reads 1968 kg rear axle , 1518 kg front. The vehicle plate reads 2600kg rear & 1800kg front. I'm surely not allowed 1968kg on the rear axle ? Am I missing something ? Is my interpretation wrong ?

Guest Had Enough
Spadge - 2014-09-06 4:18 PM

Thanks for the reply nowtelse2do, however I'm confused now ! The vehicle MOT reads 1968 kg rear axle , 1518 kg front. The vehicle plate reads 2600kg rear & 1800kg front. I'm surely not allowed 1968kg on the rear axle ? Am I missing something ? Is my interpretation wrong ?

I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure that you're allowed 2600 on your rear axle and 1800 on the front. The MOT weights will be the current weight but of course it wouldn't have been fully loaded when it was tested. Even so, you are well under the limits so have nothing to worry about.

My axle limits are 2000 on the front and 1500 on the back I think, but my 'van isn't very big and has a total fully laden weight of only 3500 kg.

Guest pelmetman

As I understand it your not allowed to exceed those weights on the given axle...............

Also your not allowed to exceed your maximum vehicle weight................so if one axle is overweight yet your still within your maximum vehicle weight...............then you need to redistribute your heavy gear towards the axle with the less load..............ie if your overweight at the back axle, because you have a long overhang with a garage, then the heavy stuff needs moving forward ;-)................

Don't dealers mention that little detail when they show folk those huge cavernous garages? :-S.....

Had Enough - 2014-09-06 4:44 PM

I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure that you're allowed 2600 on your rear axle and 1800 on the front. The MOT weights will be the current weight but of course it wouldn't have been fully loaded when it was tested. Even so, you are well under the limits so have nothing to worry about.