Campervan vehicle battery

Peter Boyle

Hi I'm new to owning a motor home , bought it last year how do i keep the battery charged through the winter at the moment I go every month to start it, my leisure battery is topped up by a solar panel so thats not a problem, I asked somebody they said take the battery out and trickle charge it at home is the correct.

I presume as your solar panel is charging the leisure battery , the simplest and cheapest way is to connect an on/off switch and a 5 amp fuse in series between the leisure and starter battery positive terminals. But remember to turn the switch off BEFORE starting the engine.

Brian B.

Another option is to fit a battery master from Vanbitz which is fit and forget item that is simple to wire in and will keep your starter battery topped up from your leisure battery which already has solar charging.

It is not a very expensive item and works very well.

buddy - 2019-02-10 7:32 PM

Another option is to fit a battery master from Vanbitz which is fit and forget item that is simple to wire in and will keep your starter battery topped up from your leisure battery which already has solar charging.

It is not a very expensive item and works very well.

The Vanbitz Battery Master is the least efficient of the Starter battery 'maintainers', the CBE being the best.

The Vanbitz battery master is the only one of the Votronic, CBE or Sterling units that takes power from both the Starter battery and the Leisure battery because it monitors both batteries sampling the current looking for voltage changes.

The CBE, Sterling and Votronic just monitor the Leisure battery voltage and if it rises above 13.2v, such as when the Solar is active, they trigger and start passing current to the Starter battery.

They are only sampling the Leisure battery voltage, not both batteries.