Camping tyres or commercial tyres?

Seanyboy

Guess this issue arises from time-to-time on this forum. However, Im new to this world and any advice would be greatly appreciated. Just purchased five new Michelin Camper tyres at £597. Anyway, had a puncture today in my VW car, took it to the local repair garage who trades tyres. Was discussing this matter with Ray (owner) and he said that it doesn't matter. As long as the magic numbers are present no need to worry he insisted! Then said he could of done me similar for £360!! What are your thoughts on this issue please?

My Indesit £200 washing machine is similar to a Miele or Bosch at 2 times the price and both wash clothes. But which one is better?

Same with tyres. OK you could have saved a bit getting non camping but for what your tyre guy suggests price wise would not be as good.

Some will argue you are just as well getting commercial tyres and for some that will be true. certainly on a PVC conversion there there really is an argument to say camping spec is not required. However for larger Coach built motprhomes and motorhomes loaded up the the hilt and cose to max load of the tyres and possibly even overloaded then camping spec tyres are a much better choice.

You appear to have a large A class. How does the tyre supplier (Ray) know you do not get close to max loading of the tyres. For all he knows or I know you could be over the laden weight. Therefore the only responsible suggestion is camping tyres.

Basic advantages of Camping spec.. Improved load handling safery margin so overloading tyres is not so much of a hazard. Improved characteristics when left standing for long periods avoiding 'square wheels' (In other words flat spots). Improved air retention so again when left standing for long periods tyres do not lose much air. More robust side walls ro cope with kerbing and driving over stones and kerbs on campsites. If Michelin Agilis Camping then M&S rating which is an advantage in winter or cold weather.