Compressor fridge

bikey

Hi all

Will be buying a new pvc this year, the van I’m interested in has a compressor fridge, I have no knowledge of compressor fridges re electric consumption and noise.

It will either have a 90litre or a 140litre fridge

I will have 2 100watt solar panels and 2 100amp agm batteries

Will this give me enough battery power, what is the current draw of these fridges

Thanks

Our compressor coolbox takes 2 to 3 amps depending on internal temperature.

You'll probably have enough solar and battery there for summer but not winter.

We've got a 150w panel and it was plenty for the coolbox in Benidorm in October. But there's so many variables.

bikey - 2021-09-08 7:15 PM

Hi all

Will be buying a new pvc this year, the van I’m interested in has a compressor fridge, I have no knowledge of compressor fridges re electric consumption and noise.

It will either have a 90litre or a 140litre fridge

I will have 2 100watt solar panels and 2 100amp agm batteries

Will this give me enough battery power, what is the current draw of these fridges

Thanks

If you find out whose fridge will come with the van, you can get approximate current consumption figures over time from its manufacturer. Actual consumption will depend on ambient temperatures, the quality of the installation - and how many times you open the door! The problem is that compressor fridges have only one power source so, unless you spend at least some time on camp sites with EHU, you have only battery power to feed it, and batteries - however charged - are a diminishing (plus heavy and costly) resource.

Me, I'd be looking for a van that offers the (usually cost) option of a three way fridge in lieu of compressor. On noise, during daytime it will be pretty well unnoticeable, but at night, when all is quiet, the closer the fridge to the head end of the bed, the greater the chance you'll be aware of it.