Ducato gearbox & power

Guest Ian COLDBECK

Guest Ian COLDBECK
I am new to Motorhome ownership and have just bought my first a Swift Sundance 590 RS LUX 5 berth on a Fiat Ducato MWB 2.8D with 9200 miles on the clock, First Reg.01/01/02 - I have two problems 1) The gearbox does not engage in 3rd without a 'clunk' a mechanic tells me the synchromesh has gone on 3rd and needs attending to. (But the dealer says he cannot find anything wrong) 2) The maximum speed it will do on a good day on a downward gradient is 60 mph. Normal running is 50 / 55 mph. Has anyone out there had a similar experience with the 3rd gear? And, is the performance as described above all I can expect without a Turbo? I thought it may at least reach the national speed limit! I have a 6 month (limited) warranty and need to resolve these issues as soon as I can, Thanking you in anticipation, Ian

Guest Docted
Ian Firstly speed:-Downhill you should be able to each in excess of 60MPH, in fact you should be able to hold 60 on the flat if you are not overloaded. The mileage on the van would indicate periods of inactivity so get the brakes checked to ensure that your parking brake is completely releasing and that all pads are fully retracting from the discs when the brakes are released. Get an emissions test carried out to ensure that all fuel is being burnt completely. Most of this should be covered by an MOT done by a trustworthy garage. Secondly the gearchange problem; unless your dealer has his own mechanical workshop, few have, he is not really in a position to comment. If the limited warranty is through an insurance policy, as most are, report it to them and let them take on the responsibility of dealing with the diagnosis you have ben given by your mechanic. Good luck Docted

Guest Ian COLDBECK