Emailing home

Guest Lindsay

Guest Lindsay
We are embarking on a trip of a lifetime, taking 6 to 9 months to tour around Europe in our Adria Twin with our two dogs. I have bought a new laptop with wifi facility and want to keep in touch with our family at home via regular emails. Can people tell me the best/cheapest way to do this? We shall be on a limited budget but expect to be mainly on campsites but probably not in the cities much. Want to see the countryside - mainly aiming for France, Italy, Switzerland, Germany - any advice would be gratefully received as there seems to be an assumption that 'its obvious'. Please note, I'm NOT a techie so please can you answer in 'normal speak'! Look forward to hearing from you. Thanks Lindsay

Guest Dave Newell
Hi Lindsay, First of all I'd like to wish you both (and the dogs of course) a fantastic trip, I truly hope it goes well for you. As for keeping in touch with home, I've not toured in Europe but I'm told the simplest and cheapest is to get yourself an unlocked mobile phone and buy a pay as you go sim card in each country then use text messages to keep in touch with those less fortunate beings back home. I'm sure other more widely experienced travellers will throw a few other ideas into the pot. Have fun, Dave. dave@davenewell.co.uk

Guest Norma Bone