F45s privacy room advice

andy mccord

Hi

I'm not new to motor homing, but I am new to privacy rooms and awnings, I have a 4metre F45s awning fitted to my chausson, I'm looking to go down the privacy room route, but I'm concerned that I will end up buying something that is a pain to use, we tend to go away for 3/4 nights to each site, so I need advice as to whether they are worth buying or not, your input is appreciated

also my awning stops short over the garage door so what happens there with relation to the privacy room? does the door become un openable?

Regards

Andy

Hi Andy

A close neighbour had a 6berth motorhome & wanted additional living space on sites, headed for a touring holiday to France. He only used it for one night & said never again. Certainly not recommended & too much time to erect/dismantle.

They are bulky & heavy, especially if you don't have a big payload capacity.

If you only intend short breaks, IMO I think the disadvantages outweigh any benefits. Although I can see the benefits if you intend to pitch up for longer periods, without moving the Motorhome.

Additionally the volume of "nearly new" or "little use" Family rooms, advertised in the magazines, suggests to me that many are bought but found to be impractical.

Hi,

We had a privacy room that came with a camper we bought about 7 years ago. We used it once, and once only. We gave it to friends who again used it once or twice and then passed it on. These ‘rooms’ are OK if you a sited for a longish period and don’t intend moving your vehicle. To my mind a drive away awning is a much better option or the Lilliput wind stop curtains, although the curtains are not waterproof.

Cattwg :-D