Fixed toilet waste tanks

Guest Derek Uzzell

Guest Derek Uzzell
This is an idle curiosity inquiry. Although I understand the basic principles of motorhome 'nautical' toilet systems fitted with fixed waste tanks, I've no practical experience of them. My main interest is whether toilet chemicals actually need to be employed in the waste tank. As far as I can see, when a nautical toilet is used there is little opportunity for odours to enter the bathroom area via the pedestal itself (unlike with Thetford cassette toilets). I presume the fixed waste tank is vented and I would anticipate it's from here that any unpleasant-smelling waste gases might emerge. I notice from Dometic's advertising leaflet for their vacuum-toilet system that mention is made of "an in-line filter that stops malodours from escaping through the vent connection". Is such a filter normal or just peculiar to the Dometic system? With a 'sealed' toilet pedestal and a filtered tank-vent there would appear to be no obvious requirement for chemical treatment of the waste. Even if chemicals were used in a fixed tank, I wonder about their effectiveness for prolonged odour suppression. My experience of 2 adults and a Thetford 20 litres-capacity toilet was that, with regular usage, 3 days was the maximum realistic interval between emptyings and, as disposal time approached, the Nose Test indicated that the chemicals (Thetford Aqua-Kem Green in our case) were definitely flagging. Fixed waste tanks have much greater capacity (Dometic offer tanks up to 90 litres) implying far less frequent emptying requirements - perhaps an interval of 2 or even 3 weeks - and chemicals that become ineffective at 3 days will be well and truly past it after a fortnight. Perhaps RV owners can advise: I don't like being behind the times and I'd really like to get to the bottom of this.