Getting the shine back

BS20

My 2005 Autocruise Starfire has lost its shine and gone to a matt white colour in places. I was thinking of getting a electric car polisher to try and get the shine back to the body. Has anyone tried or done this with a reasonable result, and what type of polish did you use ?

I believe the best and cheapest way to get a fantastic shine and get rid of the dull finish is to use WD40, I've been using it for many years now with no problem with the paintwork, all I do is have 2 soft rags and the WD40 spray can, spray a small area roughtly1mt diameter lightly with the WD40 rub it in for only about 1-2 minutes then use the other soft rag to get rid of any powder, just try a small panel first if you don't believe it works, I,m sure after you see the result you will then carry on and do the whole van.

I own an 8mt van and can do the whole van in less than 1 hour.

before I started to use this method I bought a polisher and used car polish, it took hours to finish the van and also left polish marks everywhere, haven't used the polisher since

I have done this twice. First time was an 8 year old CI Carioca 22 (painted aluminium sides) that was very dull, almost matt. Using a Lidl mains powered random orbital polisher, I used the foam pad to apply firstly Autoglym Paint Renovator then Autoglym Super Resin Polish. It was hard work, but it transformed the appearance of the van from a dull greyish "white" to a bright shiny white that was much easier to wash.

The polisher also worked well with Fenwicks Windowize plastic polish to rejuvinate the badly scratched & dull windows on the CI, finished off with Crystal Glo acrylic polish .