Inverter Generators

martin4310

I am new to Motorhoming and was thinking about getting a Generator to keep batteries charged up and run computer and bits while were are wild camping. The Van is fitted with a solar panel, I assume that is enough to keep the batteries top up. So the Question what sort of Generator and what sort of power output will I need to run the Motorhome

Without knowing what panel you have and what power you use it's not easy to give any advise, what I can tell you is we have no need of a generator for a large part of year as driving the van and/or solar keeps the batteries topped up. I would note one thing, I run a netbook from a 12v adaptor/charger, this appears to be much more efficient than a 230v charger as there is little warming of the charger compared to 230v one.

martin4310 - 2018-08-13 7:54 PM

I am new to Motorhoming and was thinking about getting a Generator to keep batteries charged up and run computer and bits while were are wild camping. The Van is fitted with a solar panel, I assume that is enough to keep the batteries top up. So the Question what sort of Generator and what sort of power output will I need to run the Motorhome

I have been looking into this purley for winter off grid camping, my thread is somewhere below.

Before I started looking I thought a generator was a generator.

I looked at an inverter one from screwfix £169.00 9.5kg. Honda £800 apprx 12.5kg.

Screw fix reviews were mixed re noise. I haven't read reviews on Honda.

I would only ever use it if completely alone so the only person it would be annoying is me.

When people have used one near me the "quiet"buzzing drives me mad.

Still not sure what to do.

Steve