Leaking Water Pump - Shurflo Trail King 7

ShoelessSmith

We have heard a knocking in the water supply with the pump kicking in every few seconds, we've located the fault and it seems that there's a leak from the pump.

I have no experience of things watery and so I wonder if anyone could help me identify which part needs to be replaced and whether I can do it myself.

The leak is coming from the top of the pump and is spurting out of the bottom of the two cables. Is it time to replace the pump entirely or is there a spare part that I could use instead?

Malc

pump_03.thumb.jpg.bd6acaa208c1de2b2eb7fbc4efbed64d.jpg

If you are happy to install a new pump anyway, why not remove the old one and carefully take it apart to see if the cure is a simple one or if a new pump is needed after all?

You have nowt to lose and potentially the cost of a new pump plus the experience of knowing how a pump works to gain.

The two wires look like they may be the contacts for the pressure switch that tuns the pump on and off and this part is available online as is lots of Shurflo pump info, parts and diagrams.

Guest pelmetman

I changed mine, its pretty straight forward if you have the arms of a orangutan 8-) ........

But as mentioned make sure you swap like for like ;-) .........

SHURflo pumps and spares are advertised here

https://www.leisureshopdirect.com/water/caravan-water-pump/shurflo-pumps/shurflo-trail-king-pump-series-spare-parts

There are only two “Trail King 7” pumps - a 20psi version or a 30psi (wih the former probably the most commonly fited to motorhomes).

If a damaged pump has some age it will make sense to replace it as Keith has advised. Besides which (as will be evident from the advert) the spare part ‘kit’ needed to repair an elderly leaking pump may cost 50% of the price of a brand-new pump.