Leisure battery recommendation

Mickt

I have been running 2 Banner 110amp leisure batteries for nearly the past 5 years.

My charger is a Nordelettronica TE43 and i have a 80 watt solar panel. What is the best batteries to replace these with, most of my camping is of grid

Mickt

If you currently have Banner “Energy Bull” 95751 batteries, then the Varta LFD90 or the Yuasa L36-EFB should be a direct replacement as far as dimensions are concerened.

The Varta LFD90 used to be this forum's ‘flavour of the month’ - more recently the Yuasa product has found favour.

This link refers

http://www.aandncaravanservices.co.uk/battery-technology.php

I'm in a similar predicament. The Varta AGM battery in my Hymer is on it's way out. I've read how good the Varta LFD90 and Yuasa L36-EFB batteries are. Can anyone offer advice on the Exide ET650 semi traction battery? It looks good on paper, but I need to know if a vent tube can be fitted, as the battery compartment on my van is inboard, with a hole for the current vent tube.

RMP - 2018-12-03 11:14 PM

I'm in a similar predicament. The Varta AGM battery in my Hymer is on it's way out. I've read how good the Varta LFD90 and Yuasa L36-EFB batteries are. Can anyone offer advice on the Exide ET650 semi traction battery? It looks good on paper, but I need to know if a vent tube can be fitted, as the battery compartment on my van is inboard, with a hole for the current vent tube.

The ET650 is our Best buy Heavy Duty battery giving about 360 cycles.

As it says on the battery Technology web page linked by Derek above :

"The Varta LFD/Bosch L range is our "Best Budget Buy". Guide price £105.

The Yuasa L36-EFB is our "Best Mid range" battery. Guide price £119.

The Exide ET650 is our "Best Buy Heavy Duty" battery £160.

The Exide ES900 is our "Best Buy Deep Cycling" battery. Guide price £180".

But that doesn't mean a battery of double the cost will have double the life of a Varta's typical 4 - 5 years.