Looking for advice for our first Motorhome

ddavies193

Hi all.

I’m a newbie and am looking for some advice. My wife and I are looking to buy our first Motorhome for our family (3 kids). We do not have c licences so are limited to the 3.5t limit.

We would need at least a 5 berth and have a budget of about 15k. We have drove to Spain in our car for the last two years and are looking at enjoying a more scenic and leisurely experience.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated and also some clarification about payload of what we could take to ensure we don’t go over the 3.5t would help.

Thanks in advance

Have you actually lived in a motorhome yet if not then suggest you hire a van first. Buying a van is quite a personal choice so recommend you visit some dealers and write up a list of what you need, what you want and what you'd like in your van. Good hunting, took me over a year to find what I wanted.

It's sometimes said that it's not until your third motorhome that you have bought the one you really want and certainly that was true in our case. The third one we have kept for 13 years and we are still happy with it.

If you have three children and therefore need five belted seats as well as 5 berth, you are going to struggle to find a suitable MH under 3,500 Kg because the lightweight ones, designed for the 3,500 kg limit, were really only developed in recent years and will be outside your budget.

Perhaps you should consider getting a C1 licence because that will open up your options considerably.

As a motorhome nut, and having come from caravans, if you've got young kids, under say 12/13, then I really think that a caravan is a better option. There's more space, esp if you have an awning and the bikes can be kept there and you can set up home better.