Max solar watt?

weldted

Hi all happy new year. Having trouble getting the best from my solar panel time to renew.

I had 300 watts to a single output Mppt solar boost 2000e. Replaced the controller with a Votronic 350 Mppt dual out put. Panels on checking are 11 years old. Was only getting 17.4 volts from panels and very low amps. Aware it's Jan but near Limoges in bright sunlight batteries at 88% less than 1 amp with hab power off. Changed the wiring around to have 260 watt wired in series to produce 34 volts but charging rate just 1.2 at midday yesterday bright cold clear view of sky. Question is controller is rated max 350 watts was new Sept 18. Have room for three 120 watt panels @ 18.7 volts am I pushing it with the 350 controller.

I am no expert but 18.7 volts from a new panel seems low to me. I have bought 2 solar panels of good quality and there rated output is over 20 volts (at least 21 if I remember correctly). They were not cheap ebay ones and cost me a bit more to buy. The oldest (90 watt) is about the same age as yours and I use it freestanding if my roof mounted 100 watt panel is not doing much on dull cloudy days. It still produces 5.5 amps in ideal conditions.

Still no luck figuring out if you have a defective controller or panels? Even with my 120W panel I can get over 1A on a sunny winter day so something definitely weird with your new setup.

Any chance you could test out each panel individually? If you can get the same(ish) amps from a single panel it might be that you don't actually have the 350W model but the smaller one (likely in the same box, just different internals).

I'd suggest you park next to someone friendly with a solar panel on the roof and temporarily switch out the controllers then see what you both get before/after.