Motorbike

Guest Maureen

Guest Maureen
I intend to buy a moped for my motorhome shortly it will probably be a honda 50 or 90cc. and I would like to know if my car licence will cover me to drive same ,also do you think a 50cc is strong enough to carry me and the boss!!!!

Maureen I assume you are talking about the C50 and C90 step-through scooters? If so, I think the C50 would be a bit overloaded (unless of course you're both built like pigmy racing snakes!). With the avent some years ago of "twist and go" scooters there is now a huge range of both new and second hand ones available. Something between 100cc and 250cc would fit the bill admirably however, I don't think your car licience would cover it. Regards Neal

Guest graham
A uk moped is restricted to 30 mph and is not suitable for 2 up use. I have been riding motorcycles since 1960 and I have neve4r been more scared than when on a moped. Most car drivers don't realise the restriction, think you are being awkward, and drive very close and as for turning right across a dual carriageway - scary. Neither a c50 or c90 are mopeds. A 100cc or 125cc would be most suitable. You probably can use your car licence as a provisional but I believe you have to validate it by passing the basic training test first. The licence situation keeps changing. Don't ask a dealer or the police look in yellow pages and ask your local motorcycle training school. They will be up to date. Good luck.

Guest Derek Uzzell
Maureen: As Graham says, driving-licence regulations don't remain static. If you visit the DVLA website (www.dvla.gov.uk) you can check what vehicle classes your driving-licence covers and the current rules regarding motorcycles/mopeds. Graham: Although a Honda C50 isn't technically a moped (no pedals) I think it may be as far as the DVLA is concerned (below-50cc capacity and 50kmh max speed) - or is it too fast?. But, as you say, the C90 certainly isn't.

Guest Clive