New to Motorhoming

SteveM64

Hi, I have been toying with the idea for years and after what’s happened with the virus decided in taking the plunge into buying a new motorhome. any advice would be greatly appreciated. My budget is around £50k and only need a 2 berth, I have millions of questions. Initially looking at maybe an Elddis Accordo 135/120 or Swift Escape 622. Like the idea of a rear lounge and also thinking I should stick below 6.5metres. Love to get any advice from you veteran motorhomers. Thanks in anticipation

For a total newbie, esp. one intending spending 10s of thousands, I would say rent a van similar to what you think would suit, from there you will know if motor homing suits you and if the layout meets your needs.

Hi Steve

Welcome to the Forum.

It’s going to be a great time to own a MH with the flight and hotel changes.

Make sure the bed is comfy, some of the basic models come with a basic mattress and look into the fact if you can use the loo easily during the night.

It’s ideal I’d the table golds to give more room to walk around your lounge ect.

The shower more than ever will be a great advantage due to toilets on sites maybe being closed.

We only use our own facilities and are very careful when filling the water tank from a tap.

It’s a great life specially in France, motorhomes are most welcome.

Look into the supplier, we now use Hayes leisure and most owners will have stories to tell, good and bad.

Den

Hi, thanks for the feedback I have rented several times in New Zealand and also used to borrow my late in-laws Talisman many years ago. Looked at 2nd hand vans but it appears for a 2-3 yr old van I would be paying similar monies, only saving £3-4 K

SteveM64 - 2020-05-20 6:26 PM

Thanks for your advice, just a quickie what do you mean by ‘table golds’ thanks so some good points mentioned.

I think that was a typo for 'folds'!!!