Renault Master Servicing

Guest MelE

There was a long exchange about Renault Masters and warranty and servicing work. Having examined the situation in some detail (I have a Master-based motor caravan), the position is as follows: 1. In the UK the Renault Master is sold by two quite separate organisations: it is biggest vehicle sold by Renault Cars and the smallest sold by Renault Trucks (the rear drive Renault Mascot version of the Master is sold only by Trucks) 2. Renault Cars UK is wholly owned by Renault France and dealers selling the Master will have no problem servicing or doing warranty work on van conversions. Because of width, length and, possibly, floor height, many, if not most, will have real problems lifting a coach-built motorhome because their lifts are designed to handle the van as a maximum. Weight is not usually an issue. 3. Renault Trucks is a quite separate company and is owned by Volvo. Base vehicles bought through Renault Trucks are totally maintainable by Trucks and lifting will never be a problem. But there are far fewer Trucks dealers in the UK than Cars. 4. There is no cross-recognition of warranties. If your base vehicle was bought from Renault Trucks, then Renault Cars will refuse any warranty work and vice versa - it's like expecting Mercedes to do warranty work for free on a BMW. But they will both service it if it fits. 5. So if your vehicle is UK-built and the base is UK-sourced, you need to find out if it was bought through Cars or Trucks. (Few UK coachbuilts yet use the Master, however.) 6. If you buy a continental-built coach built or van conversion on a Renault Master base, you need to know exactly who is responsible for warranty repairs to the base vehicle. It is most likely to be Trucks since the base veicle will almost certainly have been bought from them by the converter. And this can mean long trips since there are relatively few Trucks dealers in the UK. 7. Incidentally, a Renault Trucks sourced Master has a warranty and cal