Solar Panel Help Please

Davy2006

Hi, I'm new to this, converting a 2008 Citroen Dispatch, hoping to get advice before it rains as ive already cut a whole in my van roof :-(

I brought a Victron kit from Alpha B, includes panels, charge controller and mounts.

The problem is that the wires from the panel obviously won't pass through the glands for the cover which hides the hole because the MC4 connecters are attached.

I saw a youtube video in which he just twisted the connector's off and thats why I got started already, but I think it may not be as easy that and an MC4 tool maybe required.

I called alpha in the morning but no call back yet and called local solar businesses nearby but no ones picking up.

Can someone please advise, do MC4 connecters just twist off or do I need a tool, I've no idea at this stage.

Thanks

The glands shown appear to be 'in line' cable joiners rather than roof mounted cable entry points?

I would expect roof mounting glands to have a wide flange to enable watertight bonding and sealing to the roof, and possibly 90 degree angled entry points?

The caps usually unscrew, the compressible rubber gland opens up or comes out and the whole thing should be easy to fit - unless something is missing?

What is on the end of the cables designed to enter the van and connect to the regulator - in my case many years ago they were plain soldered tails designed to be screw clamped into the regulator and as such passed through the roof glands easily?

Are you sure you have all of the parts you need? Is there an assembly diagram to refer to?

Tracker raises an excellent point. The question worth asking is why you would want to run the cable from the solar panels through the roof gland and into the van’s interior?